Financial Aid and Waivers


UPEACE as a not-for-profit institution has limited funds for financial assistance. Therefore we strive for balance, diverse class composition, and merit in distributing financial assistance among admitted students.

Regulations to Receive Financial Assistance at UPEACE

The prospective applicant has to be admitted to UPEACE in order to receive any possibility of financial assistance from the University.

  • The financial assistance awarded is not negotiable.
  • The below waivers are not applicable to the $2,500 administrative fee. This fee is mandatory for all students and is non-refundable. Admitted students must comply with this financial obligation to UPEACE according to the required deadline outlined in their official admissions documents sent from the UPEACE Admissions Office.

Financial Assistance Categories

30% Tuition Waiver (Automatic) - Available to Master's and Doctorate students that meet one of the following:

  • Citizen or nationals of a signatory country of the UPEACE Charter
  • Students who have received an undergraduate or graduate degree from a partner university
  • Peace Corps veterans

  • ONLY for MA in Spanish (Resolución de Conflictos, Paz y Desarollo): Citizens or nationals of countries where Spanish is the official language.

50% Tuition Waiver (Automatic) - Available to Master's and Doctorate students that meet one of the following:

  • Professors from a partner university
  • Costa Rican citizens and residents (host country)
  • Current, full-time UN employees and volunteers
  • Documented refugee or asylee


30% or 50% Tuition Waiver (Merit Based) - Available to Master's applicants who do not belong to the above categories. These waivers are offered in limited number and will be awarded by merit, not financial condition. These waivers are not available to doctorate students.


Partner Universities

  • Addis Ababa University  (Ethiopia)
  • Ahfad University for Women (Sudan)
  • American University (Washington, D. C.)
  • Arcadia University  (Philadelphia, PA, USA)
  • Ateneo de Manila University (Philippines)
  • Bahçeşehir University  (Turkey)
  • Banaras Hindu University  (India)
  • California State University  (San Bernardino, CA, USA)
  • Catholic University of Eastern Africa  (Kenya)
  • Claflin University (South Carolina, USA)
  • Comisión Nacional de Préstamos para la Educación (CONAPE)  (Costa Rica)
  • Cooperbelt University (Zambia)
  • Fairleigh Dickinson University (New Jersey, USA)
  • Earth Charter International  (Costa Rica)
  • European Centre for Peace and Development (Belgrade)
  • Femmes Africa Solidarité  (Switzerland)
  • Florida International University  (Miami, FL, USA)
  • Foundation for Environmental Security and Sustainability (FESS)  (Falls Church, VA, USA)
  • Fourah Bay College at University of Sierra Leone  (Sierra Leone)
  • Geneva School of Diplomacy (Switzerland)
  • George Mason University  (Fairfax, VA, USA)
  • Hiroshima City University (Japan)
  • Inter-American Court of Human Rights (ICHR)  (Costa Rica)
  • International Institute of Social Studies  (The Netherlands)
  • International University of Monaco  (Monaco)
  • IUCN – The World Conservation Union  (Switzerland)
  • Kobe University  (Japan)
  • Leeds University  (United Kingdom)
  • Leiden University College The Hague (The Netherlands)
  • Loyola Law School  (Los Angeles, CA, USA)
  • Marianopolis College (Canada)
  • Moscow State Institute of International Relations of MFA of Russia  (Russia)
  • National Council of YMCAs of Korea (Republic of Korea)
  • Norwegian University of Life Sciences (Norway)
  • PanAfrican Centre for Gender, Peace and Development (Senegal)
  • Peace and Sport, L’organisation pour la paix par le sport  (Monaco)
  • Pontificia Javeriana University Cali  (Colombia)
  • Rwanda Peace Academy  (Rwanda)
  • Search for Common Ground (Washington, D. C.)
  • The Institute for Peace at Bibliotheca Alexandrina  (Egypt)
  • The National University of Rwanda (Rwanda)
  • Uganda Martyrs University  (Uganda)
  • UN Department for Disarmament Affairs (UNDDA)  (New York, USA)
  • UNEP – The Regional Office for Europe  (Switzerland)
  • UNESCO-IHE Institute for Water Education (The Netherlands)
  • United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-Habitat)  (Kenya)
  • United Nations Institute for Disarmament Research (UNIDIR)  (Switzerland)
  • United Nations Institute for Training and Research (UNITAR)  (Switzerland)
  • United Nations Interregional Crime and Justice Research Institute (UNICRI)  (Italy)
  • United Nations University (Japan)
  • Universitat Oberta de Catalunya (Spain)
  • Université Catholique de Bukavu (Congo)
  • Université de Cocody  (Côte D’Ivoire)
  • Université du Burundi  (Burundi)
  • Université Libre des Pays des Grands Lacs (Congo)
  • University Cheikh Anta Diop of Dakar (Senegal)
  • University of California at Berkeley  (Berkeley, CA, USA)
  • University of Colombo  (Sri Lanka)
  • University of Dar es Salaam  (Tanzania)
  • University of Dhaka  (Bangladesh)
  • University of Djibouti  (Djibouti)
  • University of Dohuk  (Kurdistan Region of Iraq)
  • University of Gulu  (Uganda)
  • University of Hargeisa  (Somaliland)
  • University of Innsbruck  (Austria)
  • University of Jos  (Nigeria)
  • University of Karachi  (Pakistan)
  • University of Utah  (Salt Lake City, UT, USA)
  • University of Winnipeg  (Canada)
  • University of Zalingei  (Sudan)
  • UPEACE The Hague Centre (The Netherlands)
  • West Texas A&M University  (Canyon, TX, USA)
  • Western Washington University  (Bellingham, WA, USA)