UPEACE Council

The Council of the University for Peace is the governing body of the University composed of 17 members (currently 15 members).

Ten members are appointed by the Secretary-General of the United Nations in consultation with the Director-General of UNESCO, and seven ex-officio members: the Chancellor of the University, the Rector, two members nominated by the Government of Costa Rica—the host country—a  representative of the UN Secretary-General, a representative of the Director-General of UNESCO and the Rector of the United Nations University.

Council of the University for Peace

Updated March 2017

Antonio Guterres

António Guterres

Secretary-General, United Nations

Honorary President of the Council


Hal Klepak

Professor Emeritus of History and Strategy, Royal Military College of Canada

President of the Council


Fernando Blasco

Former Director, Executive Office of the Secretary-General, UN

Vice-President of the Council


Francisco Rojas

Rector, University for Peace



Pilar Álvarez-Laso

Representative, UNESCO Director-General



Jean Arnault

Visiting Fellow, New York University



Alicia Barcena

Executive Secretary, ECLAC



Wakako Hironaka

Former Member, House of Councillors of Japan



Monica K. Juma

Principal Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Kenya



David Malone

Rector, United Nations University



Roza Otunbayeva

Former President of Kyrgyztan



Mercedes Peñas

First Lady of Costa Rica

Costa Rican Government Representativa