Nobel Peace Prize goes to Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW)




11 October 2013. Oslo, Norway - The Norwegian Nobel Committee announced that the Nobel Peace Prize 2013 has been awarded to the Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons. The University for Peace welcomes this decision, reaffirming that disarmament is one of the pillars of the search for peace.

Also the University for Peace announces that its Dean for Institutional Advancement and Legal Affairs, Dr. Francisco José Aguilar Urbina, is the only diplomat who has served in all school boards of all bodies of the OPCW. Namely, he was Vice President of the OPCW Executive Committee, Vice President of the Second Review Conference of the Chemical Weapons Convention and twice vice president of the Conference of States Parties. Mr. Urbina was Permanent Representative of the OPCW in Costa Rica between 2006 and 2010.