Commission for Peace

The Commission for Peace is the advisory committee for the Peace Innovation Initiative, where Commission members act as the public guardians and advocates for PII and UPEACE.

The Commission for Peace, founded and organized by Barbara Winston with the University for Peace, is made up of leading figures and experts in peace and innovation from around the world, including Ms. Barbara Winston (President of the Commission); the Rector of UPEACE, Dr. Francisco Rojas Aravena; the Dean of the University for Peace (UPEACE), Dr. Juan Carlos Sainz-Borgo; and the UPEACE Permanent Observer to the United Nations, Ambassador Narinder Kakar.

All Commission for Peace members will have the responsibility and honor of serving as UPEACE Ambassadors, upholding the policies and mission of the United Nations and in service of fulfilling the UN Sustainable Development Goals as set forth in the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

The current members of the Commission for Peace are listed below. Please click on their picture to see a full bio.