Council of the University for Peace

The Council of the University for Peace is the governing body of the University composed of 17 members (currently 15 members). Ten members are appointed by the Secretary-General of the United Nations in consultation with the Director-General of UNESCO, and seven ex-officio members: the Chancellor of the University, the Rector, two members nominated by the Government of Costa Rica—the host country—a  representative of the UN Secretary-General, a representative of the Director-General of UNESCO and the Rector of the United Nations University.

H.E. António Guterres

Secretary-General, United Nations

UPEACE Honorary President



Fernando Blasco

Former Director, Executive Office of the UN Secretary-General

Acting President


Enrique Barón Crespo

Former President, European Parliament





Fatima Akilu

Executive Director

Neem Foundation



Nada Al-Nashif

Assistant Director of General for Social & Human Sciences, UNESCO

UNESCO Director-General Representative to the Council



Jean Arnault

Former Special Representative of the Secretary-General for Colombia

& Head of the UN Mission in Colombia



Alicia Barcena

Executive Secretary

Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean




Lalla Ben Barka


UNESCO Chair on "Community Research on Development Levers: Emergence through Innovation"



Ouided Bouchamaoui


Tunisian Confederation of Industry, Trade and Handicrafts



Oscar Fernández-Taranco

Assistant Secretary-General for Peacebuilding Support

UNSG Representative to the Council



Pilar Garrido Gonzalo

Minister of Planning and Economic Policy of Costa Rica

Host Country Representative to the Council

(Costa Rica)


Meenakshi Gopinath

Founder and Director

Women in Security, Conflict Management and Peace



Hal Klepak

Professor Emeritus of HIstory and Challenge

Royal Military College of Canada




David Malone


United Nations University


Juan Carlos Mendoza

Minister of Planning and Economic Policy of Costa Rica

Host Country Representative to the Council

(Costa Rica)


Francisco Rojas


University for Peace



Xiaoyu Zhang

Executive Vice President

China International Council for the Promotion of Multinational Corporations