Council of the University for Peace

The Council of the University for Peace is the governing body of the University and is composed of 17 members, in accordance with the UPEACE Charter. Ten members are appointed by the Secretary-General of the United Nations in consultation with the UNESCO Director-General, and seven are ex-officio members: the Chancellor of the University, the Rector, two members nominated by the Government of Costa Rica—the host country— a representative of the UN Secretary-General, a representative of the UNESCO Director-General and the Rector of the United Nations University.

The current members of the Council of the University for Peace are listed below. 

Please click on the pictures below to see their individual profiles.

António Guterres

UN Secretary-General

Fatima Akilu

Executive Director, Neem Foundation

Lalla Ben Barka

Former Director-General UNESCO Africa

Enrique Baron Crespo

Former President. European Parliament

Fernando Blasco

Former Director, Executive Office UNSG

Irina Bokova

Former UNESCO Director-General

Ouided Bouchamaoui

Former President, UTICA

Meenakshi Gopinath

Founder-Director, WISCOMP

Hal Klepak

Professor, Royal Military College of Canada

Tshilidzi Marwala

Rector, United Nations University

Gabriela Ramos

Assistant Director-General, UNESCO

Francisco Rojas

Rector, University for Peace

Arnoldo Andre Tinoco

Minister of Foreign Affairs of Costa Rica

Bettina Tucci Bartsiotas

Former UN Assistant Secretary-General

Signe Ziekate

First Lady of Costa Rica

Xiaoyu Zhang

Executive Vice President, CICPMC